Board terms of reference

The Independent Commission on Civil Aviation Noise’s Board is made up of ICCAN Head Commissioner, Rob Light, four Commissioners Colin Noble, Howard Simmons, Simon Henley and Simon Kahn and Secretary to the Commission Sam Hartley. In the ICCAN Board terms of reference (ToR) document below, you’ll find an outline defining the board along with information on how the ICCAN board is organised, what they are setting out to achieve, details of board meetings and the Board terms of membership.

To learn more about Rob Light and the ICCAN board see our Meet the ICCAN Team page.

The Independent Commission on Civil Aviation noise ceased operating on 30 September 2021.

You can read the Government’s statement on ICCAN’s closure and Head Commissioner Rob Light’s letter to the Minister to learn more.

Any further questions about ICCAN’s work or aviation noise should be directed to the Department for Transport.